Sheridan Community Schools

24795 N. Hinesley Road • Sheridan, Indiana 46069-1199 • 317.758.4172 • 317.758.6248 Facsimile

Mary Roberson, Superintendent

MINUTES

Regular Meeting of the Sheridan Community Schools Board of School Trustees August 3, 2020

The Sheridan Community Schools Board of School Trustees met for a Regular Board Meeting on Monday, August 3, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. in the Sheridan High School Media Center with board members Todd Roberts, Jim Hopkins, Alan Lyon, Nancy Boone, Steve Dollahan, present, along with Superintendent Mary Roberson and School Attorney Alex Pinegar attending.

Quorum Determination – President Roberts confirmed that a quorum was established.

<u>Call to Order/Pledge</u> – President Todd Roberts called the meeting to order at 6:30 and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Agenda Revisions – There were no changes to the agenda proposed.

<u>Consent Agenda</u> - A motion to approve the Consent Agenda as presented was made by Steve Dollahan and seconded by Alan Lyon. The motion carried 5-0.

- a. Minutes of the 7/13/2020 Regular and Executive Sessions
- b. Approval to pay Accounts Payable Ledger

<u>Personnel</u> – A motion to approve the following personnel items presented by Superintendent Roberson as presented was made by Jim Hopkins seconded by Steve Dollahan. The motion carried 5-0. President Roberts wished Eric Gifford well and thanked him for his service.

- Approved summer school band staff: Teachers, Pat Cronin Band Director, Libby Doublestein – Asst. Band Director, Johnny McGinnis – Marching Director; Assistants, Ariel Marley – Brass and Marching, Tony Jeffries – Percussion, Tamar Knochel – Color Guard
- Approved Zaundra McNew as homebound instructor at \$25/hour
- Approved Carrie Bennet as temporary guidance counselor
- Approve restructuring of transportation, grounds, and maintenance
 - Change of title and salary for Jeff Barnes
 - Approve Sean Knochel as bus mechanic and bus driver @ driver pay and \$20/hour
 - Approve Jason Rollilngs as Transportation Director @ \$52,500
- Approved food service recommendations
 - Resignation of Kim Rood
 - Approve Candie Davis for the position of Elementary Site Manager
 - Sue Ann Stultz for the open position of full-time cook
- Approved the following temporary, part-time instructional assistants:
 Erin Lowder, Amber Powell, Vicy Welch, Shaela Raferty, and one TBD

<u>Approve Revised Text Book Rental</u> – Nancy Boone made a motion to approve the 2020-2021 textbook rental updates. The motion was seconded by Jim Hopkins and carried 5-0.

<u>Approve Revised School Reopening Plan</u>: A motion to approve the Revised Reopening Plan, as presented was made by Nancy Boone and seconded by Alan Lyon. The motion carried 5-0.

<u>Approve Revised 2020-2021 School Calendar</u>- A motion was made my Alan Lyon, seconded by Nancy Boone and carried 5-0, to approve the revised 2020-2021 school calendar.

<u>Information/Reports</u> – Roberson thanked the board, as well as John Jones and Tom Davis for their work for the staff cookout which was a great success.

She thanked Rick Davis for his work for his preparation for a successful graduation.

She shared that plans were continuing for opening day, which is scheduled for Aug. 17 and shared that teacher day went well, sharing her them of "Be a light."

Board Member Comments

Mr. Dollahan thanked Rick Davis for the masked Blackhawk logo, and he thanked Superintendent Mary and her team for reopening efforts.

Mr. Lyon commented that the administrators and staff are the light of the school corporation. He also thanked John Jones and Tom Davis for their donation for the staff picnic.

Mrs. Boone thanked the technology department for the live feed of graduation, thanked the staff for reopening plans, and thanked Nancy Mosna for her tremendous help with the staff picnic.

Mr. Roberts thanked the team for graduation. He commented that the picnic was wonderful. He added that under the circumstances it is important to lead with grace and forgiveness.

Next Regular Board Meeting: Monday, September 14, 2020 @ 6:30 PM in the HS Media Center (Note change of date)

<u>Adjournment</u>: A motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:52 p.m. was made Jim Hopkins by and seconded by Alan Lyon. The motion carried 5-0.

The board meeting sign-in sheet carried the names of Rick Davis, Lea Jessup, Meg Bontrager, and Cheri Hume.

Alan Lyon, Secretary		